Click here to open MENU
Available 24 Hours - FREE Consultations
Experienced, Aggressive Defense
Over 3 Decades of Criminal Defense Experience
Handling All State and Federal Crimes
Practicing 100% Criminal Defense

DUI Penalties in Florida

DUI Penalties in Florida | Melbourne DUI Lawyer

If you have been arrested for DUI in Brevard County, the Melbourne criminal attorneys at the Law Office of Richard G. Canina represent clients throughout the Brevard County area including Melbourne, Viera, Suntree, West Melbourne, Palm Bay, Rockledge, Merritt Island, Titusville, Cape Canaveral, Cocoa, Cocoa Beach, Melbourne Beach, Indialantic, Indian Harbour Beach, and Satellite Beach.

Penalties for DUI are harsh anywhere in the country, but unfortunately, Florida has some of the harshest penalties in all of the United States. These penalties include heavy fines and costs, driver license suspensions, mandatory probation, and DUI School. Your insurance premium will most likely go up, your vehicle may be impounded, and you may be required to attend substance abuse/treatment classes. Even if it is your first offense, you may be facing jail time! For your second or subsequent offense, you may face mandatory jail time. For your third or subsequent offense, you may be convicted of a felony, which could result in up to $5000 in fines and up to five years in state prison.

Below are the penalties for a first, second, third, and felony DUI Conviction:

First DUI Conviction

You will be placed on a minimum of six months of probation. You will be charged a fine of not less than $500 but no more than $1,000. If your blood alcohol level was .15 or higher, or if there was a minor in the vehicle at the time of the arrest, then the fines will be approximately $1,000 to $2,000. You must perform a minimum of 50 hours of community service for a first conviction. A first conviction will warrant a maximum of 180 days in jail. If the blood alcohol level was .15 percent or higher, the maximum potential jail time is nine months. Your vehicle will be impounded for ten days. Your license will be suspended for 180 days to one year. You must attend and complete DUI school. You must also pay any, related court costs and costs of prosecution.

Second DUI Conviction

You will be placed on 1 year of probation. You will be charged a fine of not less than $1000 but no more than $2,000. However, If the blood alcohol level is .15 or higher, or if there was a minor in the vehicle at the time, then the fine will be anywhere from $2,000 to $4,000. A second DUI conviction will warrant a maximum of 270 days in jail. However, if your blood alcohol level was over .15, or if a minor was in the vehicle, the maximum penalty is 364 days in jail. You will also be ordered to attend DUI School level 2, your license will be suspended, and you must perform 50 hours of community service and pay court costs and costs of prosecution. Those who incur second convictions within five years of the first conviction will face a mandatory 10 days of imprisonment. Also, your vehicle will be impounded for 30 days if this is your second conviction within five years.

Third DUI Conviction

If you have been convicted of your third drunk driving offense no more than ten years from your second DUI, then you face a fine of $2,000 to $5,000. If your blood alcohol level was .15 percent or higher, or if there was a minor in the vehicle, then the fine will be a minimum of $4,000. If this was your third DUI conviction within a 10 year period of your first conviction, there is a mandatory jail time of 30 days. There is a maximum jail time of 364 days. You will also face a 90 day impoundment of your vehicle.

Felony DUI Conviction

A fourth or subsequent drunk driving offense is a felony of the third degree, which is punishable by up to five years in prison and/or a $5000 fine. If the drunk driving offense caused serious bodily injury, this will also be a felony of the third degree. DUI manslaughter is a second degree felony which warrants up to a $10,000 fine or 15 years in state prison. There is permanent lifetime revocation of your license for a fourth or subsequent offense and DUI manslaughter.

Law Office of Richard G. Canina | Brevard County DUI Lawyer

At the Law Office of Richard G. Canina, our firm sets itself apart from others in the level of personal service we provide to our clients. We are 100% committed to defending our clients vigorously and to keeping our clients fully informed at every step of the way. With over 30 years of combined experience defending DUI cases in Florida, our attorneys will work hard to get you the best result possible! If you have been arrested for DUI in Brevard County, FL, start fighting back today! We can help you. Contact our office today for a FREE case evaluation.

Brevard County Florida Criminal Defense Attorney

The Law Office of Richard G. Canina proudly defends all residents of Brevard County and all cities and towns along Florida’s Space Coast including: Melbourne, Viera, Suntree, West Melbourne, Melbourne Village, Palm Shores, Palm Bay, Rockledge, Merritt Island, Titusville, Cape Canaveral, Cocoa, Cocoa Beach, Melbourne Beach, Indialantic, Indian Harbour Beach, Satellite Beach, Grant, Valkaria, Micco, Barefoot Bay, Scottsmoor, Mims, and Sebastian, as well as neighboring Volusia County, Seminole County, Orange County, Osceola County, and Indian River County, FL.

Your Defense Starts NOW! CONTACT us today for a FREE Case Evaluation!

Memberships & Achievements

FREE Criminal Case Evaluation

* Your Name:

* Your Email:

Your Phone:

Describe Your Legal Situation:

Enter the code below:

captcha

Areas of Defense

YOUR Defense Starts NOW!

(321) 728-0989
RichardGCanina@att.net

1901 S. Harbor City Blvd.
Suite 804
Melbourne, Florida 32901

Avvo - Rate your Lawyer. Get Free Legal Advice.

View Larger Map

Get Social with Us

Melbourne Lawyer Florida FacebookFacebook

Melbourne Attorney Florida TwitterTwitter

Melbourne FL Lawyer Avvo.comAvvo.com

Search Our Site